Marek Hamerlik's blog

Possibly interesting stuff I came across or made up

How to make ThinkPad scroll button (part of track point) work in Firefox

with 3 comments

I was lately working on IBM ThinkPad R51e laptop without a mouse and got annoyed that browsing webpages in Firefox is so clumsy. The problem was that I couldn’t scroll pages. The laptop has track point which theoretically should allow to scroll (press middle button and move track point), and t worked for most applications but not in one of most used one, i.e. in Firefox.

Some search brought me 2 suggestions:

  1. change scrolling to smooth (control panel>mouse>track point: choose scrolling for middle button setting and additionally in settings… choose smooth scroll type)
  2. install newest drivers

None of these worked as expected.  It allowed to scroll in Firefox, but not in the way I used to and it changed behaviour of other applications (e.g. Thunderbird) in a way I couldn’t scroll there (i.e. middle button was not activating scrolling but acted as middle button click – it was opening an email in new tab).

Finally I found out the solution:

  1. restore old drivers
  2. set scroll to standard (control panel>mouse>track point: choose scrolling for middle button setting and additionally in settings… choose standard scroll type) – so now everything works as before
  3. edit tp4table.dat in your system (should be in c:\windows\system32\) by adding line:
    *,*,firefox.exe,*,*,*,WheelStd,1,9
    before the line:
    [AutoScrollTable]
    – now scrolling (including vertical) should work in Firefox

Written by Marek Hamerlik

23.06.2011 at 18:56

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. checked it also for Thunderbird, adding:
    *,*,thunderbird.exe,*,*,*,WheelStd,1,9
    allowed me to scroll in all Thunderbird windows (e.g. with email content) and not only in emails list

    Marek Hamerlik

    25.06.2011 at 09:38

  2. Gee, thanks. Wonderful help! In my case, the file was under c:\programs\lenovo\trackpoint – but easily found via the explorer search.

    Again, thanks heaps.

    suz

    25.06.2011 at 19:37

  3. Thank you so much. I had this problem on my X300 after upgrading to Firefox 5, and scoured various Thinkpad and Mozilla forums for a solution without success before following a link to your page at the bottom of a list of Google results! On my system the tp4table.dat was in three separate locations; I amended them all as you describe and this resoved the problem. Thank you again.

    JK

    20.07.2011 at 15:02


Leave a comment